August 1st

I can’t believe it is already August 1st. Almost two months since surgery, so I figured it was time for an update.

Surgery was June 8th. I was in the hospital until the 10th. Everyone at South Texas Surgical Hospital was wonderful. If you are local and have a choice, I highly recommend it.

Both surgeons were very pleased with the results. I have yet to look in the mirror and probably won’t until after my next surgery. Both of my doctors know and support my decision to not look. I have looked down and it freaks me out, so I think I think it’s better for me to just wait.

I have already had two expansions. My most recent was today. My plastic surgeon said that I probably only need one more expansion and then about six weeks after that, I’ll have my next surgery to take the expanders out and put in the permanent implants. I have 500 cc expanders and we have already put in 420 ccs of saline in each one. I’m ready to wear real bras again instead of sports bras.

The next step after that will be nipples. I have a couple of options there and am still looking at what will be best for me. Hopefully, all of this will be finished up by the end of the year.

I do need to visit with my gynecologist about having my ovaries removed, but I will do that at my annual appointment in October.

Overall, I’m still glad that I did this. The pain and the soreness are worth not having to worry every six months about breast cancer showing up again. I was very lucky that my cancer was caught early. I’m just ready for all of these doctor visits to be over. I know that I will see them several times over the next few years, but hopefully, those will all be quick, happy checkups.

One thought on “August 1st

Leave a Reply

