One Year Ago

It’s hard to believe that everything that has happened this year, started one year ago on November 3, 2010.

That’s the day I went for what I thought was going to be a baseline mammogram at the age of 30.  I never even thought that it would end up with a cancer diagnosis and then bilateral mastectomy and reconstruction.  This has been a long year.

Cancer was always a possibility in the back of my mind.  When you lose a parent at a young age to cancer, the worry is always there that it’s going to happen to you.  I was 11 when my mom was diagnosed at the age of 42.  She died a year later.  I grew up quickly at 12 years old.  I also learned to keep everything in and not to depend on anyone else.  I was going to be the best and do it on my own.  This year was a lesson in letting others help me.  Even at the hospital it was hard for me to push the button for help, so I did it as little as possible.

At home it’s even harder to ask for help because i don’t want to feel like a burden to Jason.  I know he doesn’t see me that way, but I feel that way when I need help just to get up and go to the restroom.  He is wonderful to me and I hope he knows how much I love him and am so grateful to have him in my life.  It’s been a bumpy road but I guess that’s where the vows: for better or for worse and in sickness and in health come in to play.

2 thoughts on “One Year Ago

  1. Last night at the game everyone was asking how u were and the only reply i could get out was “She’s Amazing”!!! im so proud of you and ur strength…. U are not a burden on anyone especially Jason and Haley!!! You are a blessing to your friends who love u too…:-). I love coming over and washing hair and stealing Halloween candy…..heehee. Haley has been a blessing for me…. Im so excited to have company and she always something funny and clever to say! you are always in my prayers and again you are AMAZING and a Great Coach’s wife! Jason and Haley are always so proud!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

