A strange place to be

Yesterday was a long day.  I was determined to go to the football game last night and I regretted it afterwards.  I did sit in the pressbox with the coaches to avoid the chilly weather, but I wasn’t comfortable.  I’m used to yelling and jumping up and down at games and I was confined to my chair.  I couldn’t risk pulling my drains or stitches out, so I was stuck there.

Haley was on the sidelines with the football trainers and I think she enjoyed it.  The first half she stayed by the bench, so she wasn’t in the way, but during the second half I saw her following the trainers around and helping with water.  She will be a great student trainer when she gets to high school.

Today, Haley has a soccer game in Harlingen, which is about a 2 hour drive from here.  There’s no way I could have driven her and I don’t even think I could sit in the car for 2 hours to get to the game and then back home again, so my father-in-law graciously agreed to take her down there.  It’s very unusual for me to not be at her game and to not be doing something else.  I missed quite a few games in the spring, but it was all because of work.  I’m trying to relax and take it easy, but truthfully, I would rather be on my way to the game.

Leave a Reply

