Superstitions

Many baseball players have rituals or superstitions that they follow during the season.  Some wear the same socks or have certain rituals or patterns that they follow on game day.

I have found that being married to a former baseball player (now coach) that I have become superstitious in what I wear.

For the first scrimmage and game, I wore the exact same outfit and we had good results.  For our second game of the season, I wore a different shirt that a wonderful friend bought me last year.  I was blinged out with the shirt and my jewelry.  We lost.

For the third game, I went back to my original outfit, Coyote shirt and shorts.  The jewelry was the same for both games.  We won that game against our long-time rival.

Going into our first district game, I knew we were going to be hard-pressed to win with several starters out for disciplinary reasons and I didn’t want to “waste” my good luck outfit. I wore the same shirt from the second game.  Sorry, Steph.  H and I took a picture to send to our friend.  We did lose that game.

In the weeks since then I haven’t worn the same outfit twice.  Against Laredo Cigarroa, I wore my black and pink “Go Fight Win” breast cancer shirt.  We won that game.

I can’t remember what I wore against Corpus Christi Ray.  We lost that game, so I think I’ve pushed it out of my head.

For Homecoming, I wore my new white and pink Alice Coyotes shirt. If you click on this link, you will see me at the 3:30 mark. We won that game.

Last week, I was bundled up in Jason’s long-sleeve shirt and my black Coyote Hoodie and we won.

Today I’m back to my original shirt, jeans, boots and jewelry.  We are pulling for a win tonight.

Come baseball season, I will wear the same stuff for every game.  I’m superstitious like that.

How about you? Are you superstitious about anything?

One thought on “Superstitions

  1. In high school (and maybe even into college) I had a good luck necklace for test days. I still have it in my jewelry box but it’s a choker-style and doesn’t fit comfortably anymore.

    Like

Leave a Reply

