Thankful

I know everyone on Facebook has been posting what they are thankful for everyday.  I haven’t jumped on the bandwagon, but I figure I’ll post a few things I’m thankful for today. 

I’m thankful for my loving husband who has stood by my side during the past two years dealing with cancer and doctors and surgeries and my whining.  I’m sure I haven’t been easy to put up with especially since starting menopause this past summer.  As far as I know he has never complained, which I’m very grateful for. 

I’m thankful for my beautiful daughter who is wise beyond her years.  We have tried to keep her in the loop with surgeries and treatment because I felt so left out when my mom was diagnosed.  I think my family was trying to protect me, but in the end I feel that it hurt more because I didn’t know what was going on or how serious it was until she died.  I never wanted H to feel left out or unsure of what was going on. 

I’m thankful that I have a job that was very understanding.  They worked with me through everything and have been very supportive.  I would not have made it through all of this without them.

I’m thankful that I have the ability to vote and make my voice heard.  This year I became more active with the American Cancer Society and the Cancer Action Network to make sure our lawmakers know that we need more funding for cancer research.  Hopefully, in 7 years when H turns 18 and has to be tested for the BRCA gene, there will be more options.

I’m thankful for family and friends who prayed for me.

This past two years have been trying, but I’m thankful that they are now behind me. 1 biopsy, 1 cancer diagnosis, 4 surgeries and countless doctor visits.

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

