Giving

This morning at church, H went to the front for children’s time like she does every Sunday.  This Sunday the children gathered and Pastor Jim handed all of them a $5 bill.  He talked about the woman who gave all she had.

Calling his disciples to him, Jesus said, “I tell you the truth, this poor widow has put more into the treasury than all the thers.  They all gave out of their wealth; but she, out of her poverty, put in everything-all she had to live on.” Mark 12:43-44

Pastor Jim than took the blessing box and told the children that they could either keep the money or say something they were thankful for and give the money as a blessing.  Children said they were thankful for their families and went down the line.  H chose the keep the money.  To say I was shocked and almost a little embarrassed would be an understatement.  I thought I had raised her better than that, but it was her choice, so I didn’t say anything.

Fast forward a couple hours and we head to the grocery store.  There is a lady outside the door collecting money for children with cancer.  We walked past and told them, “not today” like we normally do.  We grabbed a quick bite to eat at McDonalds and then I went to get a cart.  H went outside and gave her $5 to the lady.  I guess she is a pretty good kid.  She told me that she was going to keep the money to buy me a Christmas present, but I told her that the money would be better with the children.

I guess H felt that something (or someone) else was bigger than the blessing box at church and needed her money.  I’m proud of her.

And here’s a picture of the roses outside my front door.  Too bad we are going to have a cold front tonight.

 

Leave a Reply

