Inked up

I’ve talked about getting a tattoo in the past, but the idea I had in mind was always an orca whale on my ankle.  I even gave my friend a picture, so he could draw it up for me several years ago, but I never followed through.

Sometime in the past few months, I decided I wanted a breast cancer ribbon on my wrist.  I wasn’t sure how big or what I wanted it to look like, but I knew that was what I wanted.

In July, we went to Fiesta Texas and I had a temporary glitter tattoo put on my wrist just to try it out. Testing out a glittery "tattoo" before getting a real one. Lol photo 1052892_10151718136053841_538339974_o.jpgIt stayed on for a couple of weeks and when it started to come off, I decided that I was ready for the real thing.

As soon as I came to that decision, I sent a message to my friend, Mark, who does tattoos on the side.  His daughter and H went to day care together and we’ve kept in touch with them over the years.  I knew I would be comfortable with him doing it and I gave him my ideas.  I had to decided to add the years 1992 and 2011 to the design.

1992 is the year that my mom died and 2011 is the year that I survived breast cancer.  I showed up on July 27th and Mark had several ideas, so I picked the one that jumped out at me.

It’s finally completely healed, so here’s a current picture:

 photo 489405C5-54A8-4D4F-ACF7-10F491C327D6-14318-000005D5821AC50E_zps72c2756c.jpg

I wasn’t sure what to expect.  I was afraid it was going to be painful and that I would move around too much and mess him up.  Well, I will admit that it was painful on my wrist and I don’t know that it’s something I will do again.  I love my tattoo and I don’t know what else would ever have the same meaning to me.

Do you have any tattoos?

One thought on “Inked up

  1. Yay! for a new blog post (it’d been TOO long)! I love the tattoo and think the significance is especially powerful.

    I have contemplated a tattoo at various times but have never been serious enough to decide on a design or even research where I could have it done. Since I donate blood as often as possible and a tattoo defers that for at least a year, that’s the only real excuse I have for not pursuing it at the moment.

    Like

Leave a Reply

